Duke Ellington

LIVE AT THE BERLIN JAZZ FESTIVAL 1969-1973

previous
Duke Ellington - Live at the Berlin Jazz Festival - 1969-1973 - Vinyl
Duke Ellington - Live at the Berlin Jazz Festival - 1969-1973
Duke Ellington - Live at the Berlin Jazz Festival - 1969-1973
Photo by Duke Ellington - Live at the Berlin Jazz Festival - 1969-1973
following

On November 8, 1969, on the stage of the great hall of the Berlin Philharmonic, the Duke, whose portrait is the poster of the Jazztage Festival which celebrates his 70th birthday, slowly joined his piano. His orchestra is at the orders, adorned with a gleaming section of which some have accompanied him for 30 years, such as Cootie Willams and Cat Anderson. The legendary saxophonists Paul Gonsalves and Johnny Hodges and Russell Procope are also present.

In a kind of rattle, the Duke launches "La plus Belle Africaine". A baroque but perfectly mastered mixture of sunny colors captured during a tour in Dakar, launched on the solo saxophone and then taken up with flashes of inventiveness by all or part of the orchestra. The tone is set. Cat Anderson launches into a furious "El Gato" that shakes the audience with its squeaks, its voluntary deconstructions and evokes the revolutionary, fragmentary and unfinished gestures of a Thelonious Monk or a Cecil Taylor. A studied contrast with the gentle continuation of "I Can't Get Started", just before the 43-second parenthesis of "Caravan", set as a mischievous link to the flamboyant "Satin Doll" which masterfully punctuates this concert.

In 1973, a few months before his death, Duke returned to Berlin in a formation organized on the basis of his trio (Joe Benjamin on double bass and Quinten "Rocky" White Jr. on drums), joined by Harold Johnson on trumpet, clarinetist and baritone saxophonist Harry Carney - and by his long-time sidekick, tenor saxophonist Paul Gonsalves. Duke Ellington gives a central place to his piano, making it both the driving force of the ensemble and its harmonic and rhythmic framework.

In this Blues that opens the concert, we hear some Debussy. This is followed by "Take the A train". The Duke likes changes of mood. Only, here and there, touches of discontinuous speech remind us how much the Duke knew how to draw with sagacity from the audacious harmonies of his contemporaries. And then he dares everything. Like offering his band the rhythmic virtuosity of Baby Laurence on tap dance in "Tap Dance". The magic works. The success is total.

Two concerts in Berlin, two facets of a poetic universe, two visions of an alchemist who knew how to draw with lightness but also with a mixture of jubilation and authority, in the harmonic sources of all the musics and which make so relevant the formula which he liked: "there are only two kinds of music: the good and the bad". We have had the extreme privilege of resurrecting the best.

Side A

  • Piano Improvisation No. 1
  • Take the "A" Train
  • Pitter Panther Patter
  • Sophisticated Lady
  • Introduction by Baby Laurence
  • Tap Dance

  • Side B*

  • The Most Beautiful African
  • El Gato
  • I Can't Get Started
  • Caravan
  • Satin Doll

      • Duke Ellington, Piano
      • Joe Benjamin, Bass
      • Quinten "Rocky" White Jr, Drums
      • Harold "Money" Johnson, Trumpet
      • Paul Gonsalves, Saxophone
      • Harry Carney, Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet

    • *Duke Ellington, Piano, Leader
    • And his Orchestra, Featuring:
    • Cat Anderson, Cootie Williams, Mercer Ellington, Trumpet
    • Harold Ashby, Johnny Hodges, Paul Gonsalves, Russell Procope, Saxophone
    • Harry Carney, Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet
    • Rufus Jones, Drums

    Recorded at the Berlin Philharmonic
    Berliner Jazztage, 2.XI.1973
    STEREO ℗ 1973 RBB

    *Recorded at the Berlin Philharmonic
    Berliner Jazztage, 8.XI.1969
    MONO ℗ 1969 RBB

    Remastered by ℗ & © 2022 The Lost Recordings
    Made and printed in Germany

    Remastered from the original analog tapes
    Lacquer-cuts: Kevin Gray
    Masters & Mothers: Quality Record Pressings
    180g Single 33rpm vinyl album
    2nd edition



    *A 16-bit album download card is included with the vinyl.


    VINYL | 52€

    On November 8, 1969, on the stage of the great hall of the Berlin Philharmonic, the Duke, whose portrait is the poster of the Jazztage Festival which celebrates his 70th birthday, slowly joined his piano. His orchestra is at the orders, adorned with a gleaming section of which some have accompanied him for 30 years, such as Cootie Willams and Cat Anderson. The legendary saxophonists Paul Gonsalves and Johnny Hodges and Russell Procope are also present.

    In a kind of rattle, the Duke launches "La plus Belle Africaine". A baroque but perfectly mastered mixture of sunny colors captured during a tour in Dakar, launched on the solo saxophone and then taken up with flashes of inventiveness by all or part of the orchestra. The tone is set. Cat Anderson launches into a furious "El Gato" that shakes the audience with its squeaks, its voluntary deconstructions and evokes the revolutionary, fragmentary and unfinished gestures of a Thelonious Monk or a Cecil Taylor. A studied contrast with the gentle continuation of "I Can't Get Started", just before the 43-second parenthesis of "Caravan", set as a mischievous link to the flamboyant "Satin Doll" which masterfully punctuates this concert.

    In 1973, a few months before his death, Duke returned to Berlin in a formation organized on the basis of his trio (Joe Benjamin on double bass and Quinten "Rocky" White Jr. on drums), joined by Harold Johnson on trumpet, clarinetist and baritone saxophonist Harry Carney - and by his long-time sidekick, tenor saxophonist Paul Gonsalves. Duke Ellington gives a central place to his piano, making it both the driving force of the ensemble and its harmonic and rhythmic framework.

    In this Blues that opens the concert, we hear some Debussy. This is followed by "Take the A train". The Duke likes changes of mood. Only, here and there, touches of discontinuous speech remind us how much the Duke knew how to draw with sagacity from the audacious harmonies of his contemporaries. And then he dares everything. Like offering his band the rhythmic virtuosity of Baby Laurence on tap dance in "Tap Dance". The magic works. The success is total.

    Two concerts in Berlin, two facets of a poetic universe, two visions of an alchemist who knew how to draw with lightness but also with a mixture of jubilation and authority, in the harmonic sources of all the musics and which make so relevant the formula which he liked: "there are only two kinds of music: the good and the bad". We have had the extreme privilege of resurrecting the best.

    Side A

  • Piano Improvisation No. 1
  • Take the "A" Train
  • Pitter Panther Patter
  • Sophisticated Lady
  • Introduction by Baby Laurence
  • Tap Dance

  • Side B*

  • The Most Beautiful African
  • El Gato
  • I Can't Get Started
  • Caravan
  • Satin Doll

      • Duke Ellington, Piano
      • Joe Benjamin, Bass
      • Quinten "Rocky" White Jr, Drums
      • Harold "Money" Johnson, Trumpet
      • Paul Gonsalves, Saxophone
      • Harry Carney, Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet

    • *Duke Ellington, Piano, Leader
    • And his Orchestra, Featuring:
    • Cat Anderson, Cootie Williams, Mercer Ellington, Trumpet
    • Harold Ashby, Johnny Hodges, Paul Gonsalves, Russell Procope, Saxophone
    • Harry Carney, Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet
    • Rufus Jones, Drums

    Recorded at the Berlin Philharmonic
    Berliner Jazztage, 2.XI.1973
    STEREO ℗ 1973 RBB

    *Recorded at the Berlin Philharmonic
    Berliner Jazztage, 8.XI.1969
    MONO ℗ 1969 RBB

    Remastered by ℗ & © 2022 The Lost Recordings
    Made and printed in Germany

    Remastered from the original analog tapes
    Lacquer-cuts: Kevin Gray
    Masters & Mothers: Quality Record Pressings
    180g Single 33rpm vinyl album
    2nd edition



    *A 16-bit album download card is included with the vinyl.

Duke Ellington

LIVE AT THE BERLIN JAZZ FESTIVAL 1969•1973

précédent
Duke Ellington - Live at the Berlin Jazz Festival - 1969-1973 - Vinyle
Duke Ellington - Live at the Berlin Jazz Festival - 1969-1973
Duke Ellington - Live at the Berlin Jazz Festival - 1969-1973
Photo de Duke Ellington - Live at the Berlin Jazz Festival - 1969-1973
suivant

Le 8 novembre 1969, sur la scène de la grande salle de la Philharmonie de Berlin, le Duke dont le portrait est l’affiche du Festival des Jazztage qui célèbre son 70ème anniversaire, rejoint lentement son piano. Son orchestre est aux ordres, orné d’une section rutilante dont certains l’accompagnent depuis 30 ans, tels Cootie Willams et Cat Anderson. Les légendaires saxophonistes Paul Gonsalves et Johnny Hodges et Russell Procope sont également présents.

Dans une sorte de râle, le Duke lance « La plus Belle Africaine ». Mélange baroque mais parfaitement maitrisé de couleurs ensoleillées captées lors d’une tournée à Dakar, lancé au saxo solo puis repris avec des fulgurances d’inventivité par tout ou partie de l’orchestre. Le ton est donné. Cat Anderson se lance dans un furieux « El Gato » qui bouscule le public par ses grincements, ses déconstructions volontaires et évoque les gestes révolutionnaires, fragmentaires et inachevés d’un Thelonious Monk ou d’un Cecil Taylor. Contraste étudié avec la suite en douceur du « I Can’t Get Started », juste avant la parenthèse de 43 secondes d’un « Caravan », posé comme un trait d’union malicieux vers le flamboyant « Satin Doll » qui ponctue magistralement ce concert.

En 1973, quelques mois avant sa disparition, le Duke revient à Berlin dans une formation organisée sur la base de son trio (Joe Benjamin à la contrebasse et Quinten “Rocky” White Jr. à la batterie), rejoint par Harold Johnson à la trompette, le clarinettiste et saxophoniste baryton Harry Carney – et par son acolyte de toujours, le saxophoniste ténor Paul Gonsalves. Duke Ellington donne ici une place centrale à son piano, en faisant à la fois la force motrice de l’ensemble mais aussi sa charpente harmonique et rythmique.

Dans ce Blues qui ouvre le concert, on entend du Debussy. Suit « Take the A train ». Le Duke aime les changements d’ambiance. Seules, de ci de là, des touches de discours discontinu nous rappellent combien le Duke a su puiser avec sagacité dans les harmonies audacieuses de ses contemporains. Et puis il ose tout. Comme offrir à sa formation la virtuosité rythmique de Baby Laurence aux claquettes dans « Tap Dance ». La magie opère. Le succès est total.

Deux concerts à Berlin, deux facettes d’un univers poétique, deux visions d’un alchimiste qui savait puiser avec légèreté mais aussi avec un mélange de jubilation et d’autorité, dans les sources harmoniques de toutes les musiques et qui rendent si pertinente la formule qu’il affectionnait : « il n’existe que deux sortes de musique : la bonne et la mauvaise ». Nous avons eu l’extrême privilège de ressusciter la meilleure.

Side A

  • Piano Improvisation No. 1
  • Take the "A" Train
  • Pitter Panther Patter
  • Sophisticated Lady
  • Introduction by Baby Laurence
  • Tap Dance

  • Side B*

  • La plus Belle Africaine
  • El Gato
  • I Can't Get Started
  • Caravan
  • Satin Doll

      • Duke Ellington, Piano
      • Joe Benjamin, Bass
      • Quinten "Rocky" White Jr., Drums
      • Harold "Money" Johnson, Trumpet
      • Paul Gonsalves, Saxophone
      • Harry Carney, Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet

    • *Duke Ellington, Piano, Leader
    • And his Orchestra, Featuring:
    • Cat Anderson, Cootie Williams, Mercer Ellington, Trumpet
    • Harold Ashby, Johnny Hodges, Paul Gonsalves, Russell Procope, Saxophone
    • Harry Carney, Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet
    • Rufus Jones, Drums

    Enregistré à la Philharmonie de Berlin
    Berliner Jazztage, 2.XI.1973
    STEREO ℗ 1973 RBB

    *Enregistré à la Philharmonie de Berlin
    Berliner Jazztage, 8.XI.1969
    MONO ℗ 1969 RBB

    Remastérisé par ℗ & © 2022 The Lost Recordings
    Fabriqué et imprimé en Allemagne

    Remasterisé à partir des bandes analogiques originales
    Lacquer-cuts: Kevin Gray
    Masters & Mothers: Quality Record Pressings
    180g Single 33rpm vinyl album
    1ère Edition
    Nombre limité de copies, numérotées à la main : 2000



    *Une carte de téléchargement de l'album en 16-bit est incluse avec le vinyle.

    Le 8 novembre 1969, sur la scène de la grande salle de la Philharmonie de Berlin, le Duke dont le portrait est l’affiche du Festival des Jazztage qui célèbre son 70ème anniversaire, rejoint lentement son piano. Son orchestre est aux ordres, orné d’une section rutilante dont certains l’accompagnent depuis 30 ans, tels Cootie Willams et Cat Anderson. Les légendaires saxophonistes Paul Gonsalves et Johnny Hodges et Russell Procope sont également présents.

    Dans une sorte de râle, le Duke lance « La plus Belle Africaine ». Mélange baroque mais parfaitement maitrisé de couleurs ensoleillées captées lors d’une tournée à Dakar, lancé au saxo solo puis repris avec des fulgurances d’inventivité par tout ou partie de l’orchestre. Le ton est donné. Cat Anderson se lance dans un furieux « El Gato » qui bouscule le public par ses grincements, ses déconstructions volontaires et évoque les gestes révolutionnaires, fragmentaires et inachevés d’un Thelonious Monk ou d’un Cecil Taylor. Contraste étudié avec la suite en douceur du « I Can’t Get Started », juste avant la parenthèse de 43 secondes d’un « Caravan », posé comme un trait d’union malicieux vers le flamboyant « Satin Doll » qui ponctue magistralement ce concert.

    En 1973, quelques mois avant sa disparition, le Duke revient à Berlin dans une formation organisée sur la base de son trio (Joe Benjamin à la contrebasse et Quinten “Rocky” White Jr. à la batterie), rejoint par Harold Johnson à la trompette, le clarinettiste et saxophoniste baryton Harry Carney – et par son acolyte de toujours, le saxophoniste ténor Paul Gonsalves. Duke Ellington donne ici une place centrale à son piano, en faisant à la fois la force motrice de l’ensemble mais aussi sa charpente harmonique et rythmique.

    Dans ce Blues qui ouvre le concert, on entend du Debussy. Suit « Take the A train ». Le Duke aime les changements d’ambiance. Seules, de ci de là, des touches de discours discontinu nous rappellent combien le Duke a su puiser avec sagacité dans les harmonies audacieuses de ses contemporains. Et puis il ose tout. Comme offrir à sa formation la virtuosité rythmique de Baby Laurence aux claquettes dans « Tap Dance ». La magie opère. Le succès est total.

    Deux concerts à Berlin, deux facettes d’un univers poétique, deux visions d’un alchimiste qui savait puiser avec légèreté mais aussi avec un mélange de jubilation et d’autorité, dans les sources harmoniques de toutes les musiques et qui rendent si pertinente la formule qu’il affectionnait : « il n’existe que deux sortes de musique : la bonne et la mauvaise ». Nous avons eu l’extrême privilège de ressusciter la meilleure.

    Side A

  • Piano Improvisation No. 1
  • Take the "A" Train
  • Pitter Panther Patter
  • Sophisticated Lady
  • Introduction by Baby Laurence
  • Tap Dance

  • Side B*

  • La plus Belle Africaine
  • El Gato
  • I Can't Get Started
  • Caravan
  • Satin Doll

      • Duke Ellington, Piano
      • Joe Benjamin, Bass
      • Quinten "Rocky" White Jr., Drums
      • Harold "Money" Johnson, Trumpet
      • Paul Gonsalves, Saxophone
      • Harry Carney, Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet

    • *Duke Ellington, Piano, Leader
    • And his Orchestra, Featuring:
    • Cat Anderson, Cootie Williams, Mercer Ellington, Trumpet
    • Harold Ashby, Johnny Hodges, Paul Gonsalves, Russell Procope, Saxophone
    • Harry Carney, Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet
    • Rufus Jones, Drums

    Enregistré à la Philharmonie de Berlin
    Berliner Jazztage, 2.XI.1973
    STEREO ℗ 1973 RBB

    *Enregistré à la Philharmonie de Berlin
    Berliner Jazztage, 8.XI.1969
    MONO ℗ 1969 RBB

    Remastérisé par ℗ & © 2022 The Lost Recordings
    Fabriqué et imprimé en Allemagne

    Remasterisé à partir des bandes analogiques originales
    Lacquer-cuts: Kevin Gray
    Masters & Mothers: Quality Record Pressings
    180g Single 33rpm vinyl album
    1ère Edition
    Nombre limité de copies, numérotées à la main : 2000



    *Une carte de téléchargement de l'album en 16-bit est incluse avec le vinyle.


    VINYLE | 52€